School Board

The Bakewell Primary IPS Board consists of parent members, school staff and non-school stakeholders. These members have a local interest or can offer specialised professional expertise to benefit and support strategic initiatives.

About our School Board

In 2016 we were successful in our application to become an Independent Public School and were required to have a School Board rather than a School Council.

The School Board was established in 2016 in accordance with the Education Act 1999 under the Governance model including a Constitution, protocols, procedures and Terms of Reference.

The Board convenes at 6pm on the third Wednesday of the month.


The fundamental purpose and objectives of the School Board is to:

  • Advocate for, and support the Vision and Mission of the school.
  • Have a strong focus on strategic planning, monitoring and reporting.
  • Work together with the Principal and School Leadership Team to create and achieve the long-term vision for the school.
  • Involve the school community in the governance of the school to strengthen and support public education in the community.
  • Maintain genuine autonomy at all stages of its dealings on behalf of parents, students, teachers and the wider school community.

Membership structure

The Bakewell Primary School Board consists of 11-13 people, calculated as per Regulation 22 (not less than 6, but not more than 19 members). The School Board membership must include:

  • Nine (9) parents of students enrolled in the school, including parents of Preschool students, elected by the parents of the students enrolled in the school.
  • Two (2) teachers at the school (who may be a Preschool teacher), elected by the teachers teaching at the school.
  • The Principal

The Bakewell Primary Independent Public School Board membership may also include:

  • One (1) to two (2) invited members.
  • Invited members may be persons with special qualifications, knowledge or experience, the Member of the Legislative Assembly for the electoral division in which the school is located; or a person nominated by the local government council, or any other body performing functions of local government, in the area in which the school is located.

The School Board must not invite a person to be a member if that person is a teacher at any Government school, including the school for which the Board was established.

School Board Members

Charmaine Phillips

Purdey Eades

Rebecca Trimble

Bridget Simmons
Alicia Cassells
Tanya Lohse
Krista Watters
Aby Gee Varghese

Ali Brady

Staff Members 
Lucy Ewin
Jenny Bingham                                                  

Business Manager
Leonie Commons

Communications and Reports

© 2020 Bakewell Primary School

Education Web Design by Dash.